Skip to content
Jev Hub

[ Compare ]

Jev vs Microsoft-Decision-1: same job, bigger name

Jev vs Microsoft-Decision-1 in Microsoft Foundry: question types, API shape, price, speed claims and what is confirmed or only reported. Dated 17 October 2026.

Updated By Jev Hub

[ TLDR ]
  • Microsoft-Decision-1 is Microsoft's own decision model, built into Microsoft Foundry.
  • It does the same job as Jev: it answers typed questions with a probability for each option, and never writes text.
  • Microsoft's own documentation confirms the model, its three question types and an API address similar to Jev's.
  • The price everyone quotes, $0.042 per million input tokens, the same as Jev's, comes only from press coverage; Microsoft's own page does not state it.
  • On the one independent test we found, Jev scores higher: 57.1 against 53.8.
  • Choose Jev if you want TypeSafe's API outside Azure; look at Microsoft's model if you already build on Azure.

Side by side

FeatureJev (TypeSafe AI)Microsoft-Decision-1 (Microsoft)
What it isA decision model: it answers typed questions about an input and returns probabilities. It cannot write text.A decision model in Microsoft Foundry for classification, routing, ranking, grading and binary decisions. It makes "a focused judgment about text or JSON" and writes no free-form answer or rationale (Microsoft's documentation).
Question typesChoice (up to 255 options), Score (2 to 10 levels), Noul (yes/no)Choice, Score and Noul, the same three names (Microsoft's documentation)
What comes backA typed answer with probabilities and a confidence valueA typed answer; a probability for each option, and for Score a value on the ordered scale. The documentation does not mention a separate confidence value.
Where you run itTypeSafe's API, and gateways such as Vercel AI Gateway, OpenRouter and LiteLLMMicrosoft Foundry on Azure, or OpenRouter: confirmed live there as microsoft/microsoft-decision-1 (checked 21 October), hosted by Azure, serving real traffic since 9 October.
Request shapePOST to /v1/systemone with state and questionsA request to <resource endpoint>/providers/microsoft/v1/systemone with state and questions. Microsoft calls the pattern "similar to a system-one API".
InputText by default; images are an experimental option (since 14 October)Text or JSON (the state); OpenRouter's listing gives a 33K-token context window.
Price (input)$0.042 per million tokens, output free (checked 14 October 2026)Not stated on Microsoft's own documentation page. OpenRouter's listing confirms $0.042 per million input tokens, output free (checked 21 October).
WeightsClosedReported to be closed (press coverage); Microsoft's page does not say
Speed (each company's own claim)70 to 500 ms per request (TypeSafe)Microsoft says about 35 times faster than GPT-6 Sol on median latency in its own tests (as reported by Help Net Security); no absolute figure we could verify
Independent score (Artificial Analysis Decision Index, 18 October)57.5 (Jev 1.13) and 57.1 (Jev 1.14)53.8

The Microsoft column uses Microsoft Learn's documentation page (updated 9 October 2026) where marked, OpenRouter's own listing (read 21 October 2026) where marked, and press coverage where marked. The Jev column uses TypeSafe's documentation. Prices and limits can change.

The short answer

Both models answer the same kind of question: you send an input and typed questions, and get back an answer with a probability for each option, with no text written. If you can run a job on one, you can usually run it on the other with small changes to the request.

The differences that are documented are about where and how you run it. Jev is TypeSafe's service, called through its API or a gateway. Microsoft's model is deployed in Microsoft Foundry on Azure. The one independent test we found, Artificial Analysis's Decision Index, scores Jev higher (57.1 for Jev 1.14 and 57.5 for Jev 1.13, against 53.8), but it is one index of four tests, so check accuracy on your own data.

JEVTypeSafe's own APIAlso via gatewaysNo cloud account neededClosed weightsMICROSOFT-DECISION-1Microsoft FoundryNeeds an Azure subscriptionRegion or data zoneReported closed weights
Where you run it. The questions are the same style. The documented difference is where the model lives.

What does Microsoft's own page confirm?

From Microsoft's documentation page, updated on 9 October 2026:

  • The model exists in Microsoft Foundry's catalogue, as version 1, and is meant for classification, routing, ranking, grading and binary decisions.
  • It uses three question types, named noul (yes/no), choice and score, and returns a probability for each option rather than text.
  • The request goes to an address ending in /systemone, and the documentation says the pattern is similar to a system-one API: you supply a state and bounded questions.
  • You deploy it with an Azure subscription, in a global deployment or in a data zone that keeps processing within a region.
  • It lists limitations, including that scores can change with how you phrase or order the questions, and that calibration is strongest on familiar task types.

What does only the press report?

MarkTechPost (9 October) and Help Net Security (12 October) report that the model is post-trained from Alibaba's open-weight Qwen3.5-9B. Satya Nadella announced it on X on 9 October.

Sources disagree on whether it is generally available or a public preview. Microsoft's own documentation page still does not state a price, but OpenRouter's own listing for the model now confirms $0.042 per million input tokens with free output, the same list price as Jev.

What does Microsoft say about its speed and quality?

Everything in this section is Microsoft's own claim, as Help Net Security reports it, and none of it has been independently checked. Microsoft says it tested on 36 benchmarks covering nearly 150,000 questions kept out of training, and that the model is about 35 times faster than GPT-6 Sol on median latency and 2.5 times faster than H2O-Lightning-4B v1.1, the next fastest. It also describes internal tests by its Xbox, Copilot and Discovery teams.

Some coverage says Microsoft's launch material compared the model with Jev 1.13 and reported slightly higher average accuracy for its own. We could not read that table, so we do not quote its numbers here. Artificial Analysis's independent index, below, does not show that lead.

What did an independent test find?

Artificial Analysis, an independent evaluator, launched a Decision Index on 13 October that scores decision models on four tests it runs itself. On its leaderboard (read 18 October), Microsoft-Decision-1 scored 53.8, against 57.5 for Jev 1.13 and 57.1 for Jev 1.14. Liquid AI's d1-ultra led at 65.2. The leaderboard lists Microsoft-Decision-1 under OpenRouter, which fits press reports that it is available there.

That is one independent index, days old, with four tests that are not your task, so it does not settle which model is better for you. But it does not support the accuracy lead that Microsoft's own table claims over Jev.

DECISION INDEX SCOREJev 1.1357.5Jev 1.1457.1Microsoft-Decision-153.8
An independent score, side by side. Artificial Analysis Decision Index v1.0, read on 18 October 2026. Four evaluations run by Artificial Analysis.

Which should you pick?

Based on what is documented today:

  • Choose Jev if you want TypeSafe's API from any cloud or through a gateway, you want the model that has been available since 15 September, or you already use it.
  • Look at Microsoft-Decision-1 if you already build on Azure and want the model deployed, billed and secured there, or you need to choose a region or data zone.
  • Test both before you commit. The request shapes are close, so you can send the same labelled sample of your own data to each and compare accuracy, speed and cost.

Keep reading

Common questions

Sources

Written by Jev Hub from the sources below and checked against them on . Where a figure is a company's own claim, the article says so.