Skip to content
Jev Hub

[ Guide ]

Can you use Jev for free? Access options and pricing

Published By Jev Hub

[ In short ]
  • You can try Jev for free, but not build on it for free.
  • TypeSafe's playground in its console can be used without a balance, and some independent sites offer a small sample allowance.
  • A free API key is not available: new accounts no longer get free credit, and an account with no credit cannot create a key.
  • When you do pay, Jev lists $0.042 per million input tokens with free output, so a thousand short requests cost about two cents.

Ways to access Jev, at a glance

FeatureFree?What you getThe catch
TypeSafe console playgroundYes, by handRun examples in the browser, including image examples on the preview version. It does not draw down a balance.One request at a time. The console has a Rate limits tab, but TypeSafe does not publish the numbers.
TypeSafe API keyNoAn account with no credit is refused: "API keys cannot be created or reactivated: this organization has no available credits. Add credits in Billing."Credit is needed first. The minimum top-up is shown in the console's Billing area.
Vercel AI GatewayNo, for JevJev's page in the Vercel catalogue shows "Free AI Gateway Credit: No" for its providers. Vercel's own free offer for Jev ended on 25 September.Vercel's free monthly credit covers only a limited set of models, and Jev is not one of them.
OpenRouterNot confirmedJev models are listed, but the Jev Router page states no price and no free allowance.No free Jev model is confirmed there.
Independent sample sitesA littleSome independent sites advertise a free allowance. One, jevmodel.org, says guests get 10,000 free input tokens and 100,000 once after signing in with an email, with no card.They are not run by TypeSafe, they have their own terms, and how they fund the allowance is not stated. Do not send private data, and never paste a TypeSafe key into one.
Open models (not Jev)Free to run yourselfStrands Decider, Laya and Cloudflare's Clef have open weights you can run on your own hardware.They are different models, not Jev. Our open-models article compares them.

Facts last checked on 15 October 2026. Offers like these change quickly, so check the linked pages before relying on one. Sources are listed below.

Can I use Jev for free?

You can try Jev for free, but you cannot build on it for free. There is no free API tier from TypeSafe right now. New accounts no longer get free credit: TypeSafe's own post of 28 September says new sign-ups "no longer get free credits" and that it hopes "to bring these back as soon as possible".

What is still free is trying it by hand. TypeSafe's console has a playground that runs Jev in the browser without drawing on a balance, and a few independent sites advertise a small sample allowance. Anything that needs an API key needs credit, and at Jev's list price that is very little money.

How can I try Jev for free?

Three places let you run Jev without paying, each with a different catch:

  • TypeSafe's own playground in its console (console.typesafe.ai). Make a free account, open Playground and run the examples. It is the closest thing to the real product, and it includes the newer image examples.
  • jevmodel.org, an independent site that says it is not affiliated with TypeSafe. It lists 10,000 free input tokens for guests and 100,000 more once after you sign in with an email, plus a playground and an API key for its own endpoint.
  • thejevai.com, another independent site, says its Jev playground runs are free. Its limits are not stated on the page.

What is the difference between the playground and an API key?

Jev runs on TypeSafe's servers. There are two ways to talk to it, and they are not the same thing.

The playground is a web page. You paste some text, write your questions (pick one option from a list, score it on a scale, or answer yes or no), and press Run. The page sends your request to Jev for you and shows the answers with a probability for each one. You need no code and no key, and you do one request at a time. It is made for trying Jev and learning how its questions work. Playgrounds can also show the same request as code, which is how you move from trying Jev to using it.

An API key is a secret password that lets your own program, script or website call Jev directly, with no web page in between. That is how Jev is used in real products: thousands of requests, automatically. Every request is billed from your balance, which is why TypeSafe asks for credit before it will create one.

In short: the playground lets you try Jev by hand. An API key lets your own software use Jev. Free playground access does not give your software access to the model.

Can I get a Jev API key for free?

Not from TypeSafe at the moment. An account with no credit is refused when it tries to create a key, with the message "this organization has no available credits. Add credits in Billing." The way to get a key is to add credit in the console's Billing area first.

The cost of that credit is small compared with most AI services (see below). If free credit returns, TypeSafe is likely to announce it on its X account, and this page will be updated.

Is Jev free on Vercel or OpenRouter?

Jev is also offered through gateways. On Vercel's AI Gateway its model ID is typesafe-ai/jev, from $0.04 per million input tokens. Vercel gives every team a monthly free credit, but only for a limited set of models, and Jev's page shows no free credit. Vercel's own offer of free Jev ended on 25 September.

On OpenRouter, Jev models are listed, but the Jev Router page states no price and no free allowance, so a free route is not confirmed. A free period on n8n Cloud, through gateway credits, ended on 10 October.

Why do older guides say Jev is free?

The free offers came and went quickly, which is why advice online disagrees:

  • Launch week. Third-party reports say new TypeSafe accounts got $5 of credit, then sign-ups were paused around 22 September because of demand. TypeSafe has not published those dates itself.
  • 25 September. Vercel's free period for Jev ended.
  • 28 September. TypeSafe announced on its X account that sign-ups were open again, with no free credit.
  • 10 October. The free period on n8n Cloud ended.

How much does Jev cost?

TypeSafe lists $0.042 per million input tokens for Jev, and output tokens are free. A request can carry up to 64,000 tokens.

For scale, take a short text with four questions, which comes to roughly 550 input tokens. A thousand such requests use about 550,000 tokens, which at $0.042 per million is about two cents. That is an illustration from the list price, not a quote. If you only want to try Jev, the price is small; the hurdle is adding credit at all, not the amount.

Which option should I use?

Based on what is documented today:

  • To see how Jev behaves: the playground in TypeSafe's console. It is free and needs no key.
  • To build something small: add a small amount of credit in TypeSafe's console, or use an independent sample site for early experiments, with data you would not mind sharing.
  • To plan something large: watch TypeSafe's X account for the return of free credit, and run the numbers in the cost calculator.
  • To run something free yourself: look at the open models. They are not Jev, so test them on your own data.

Is it safe to use an independent site?

Independent sample sites are not TypeSafe and are not run by TypeSafe. Read their terms, send them only data you would be happy to share, and never paste your TypeSafe API key into one. It is not stated how they pay for the free allowance, so do not build anything important on it.

Common questions

Sources

Written by Jev Hub from the sources below and checked against them on . Where a figure is a company's own claim, the article says so.

More in Learn, and every comparison on the Compare page.